4 months into first tank FOWLR

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

6eteeth

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I purchased a tank and headed down to my local LFS for advice. I have not even had a beta fish. As a student, I am on a tight budget. I purchased a 55gal off craigslist with a heater and Marinelife Penguin 350. He recommended I buy another Marinelife Penguin 350 for increased filtration and more importantly increased water flow. I also purchased 40lb of Fiji pink LS and some dry rock. For lighting I have 4 24" 10k T5 bulbs. I cycled my tank and started with some damsels, on his recommendation. About a month ago I added a Maroon Clown and 2 white spotted crabs. Then this weekend I added a medium yellow angelfish and 30lb of LR, but only have 1 crab left. Turns out they weren't that great of friends.

I am wondering which direction I should do. I plan on adding more LR soon and was thinking about getting the Coralife T5 Quad Lamp for increased lighting. I have been reading a lot about skimmers and not sure if I need one if I keep up on my water changes.

We are obviously not done adding fish but didn't want to go overboard too quick since this is our first tank.

Thoughts? Advice? Criticism?

2014_01_11_18_59_53.jpg
[/url][/IMG]

Ya you should look into a skimmer on a tank that size. Hob filters don't really remove sw fish waste like a skimmer will. Just my 2 cents

Skimmers are great to have.... although there are quite a lot of people who successfully have aquariums without them.

I personally try to get the maximum of a filtration as I can fit.... but it does come down to the budget you have and your personal preference.

You don't HAVE to get a skimmer... as long as your filtration/li ve rock is half decent and parameters are all ok and you don't go nuts on the stock and do regular WC then its not really needed....