45 gallon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

quinnmquinn

Aquarium Advice Activist
I just got a new tank (45gal) and was thinking about migrating over to the cichlid side of things. Truthfully I'm a novice when it comes to cichlids, only ever owned convicts. But I would like to try some new, possibly African cichlids MAYBE even a variety of species. What would you recommend?

Dwarf Mbuna could work nicely in a 45G (May be a bit of a squeeze).

Obviously with Cichlids you will need to overstock massively. I'm using the rule;
number of gallons / 2 = number of fish to keep

With this overstocking you will need to buff up your filtration also.
I'd say having 5x turnover per hour is sufficient.

Now, fish.
There are many dwarf Mbuna you can choose from, and they won't exceed 4 inches for the most part.

Some choices are;

Demasoni - Regarded as one of the most aggressive Cichlids out there.
Saulosi - Very good looking fish, males are blue with black bars and females are yellow.
Jalo Reef's - Males are black and white with a yellow dorsal fin, females are grey.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I've always had fun with shelldwellers. Especially brevis.

They are very overlooked and under appreciated in the hobby so you should consider them. They are very nice fish to keep and have good habits. :)

I'll research them all! Note why would you over stock with a cichlid tank,jw I'm new to them

Sent from my PG86100 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

The thing about cichlids (this usually doesn't include most shelldwellers) is that they can be aggressive. The thought is if you overstock, it reduces aggression. BUT they aren't aggressive fish. They are territorial. Provide good space and lightly stock and you will be good to go.

This forum thread will help you decide.