55 Gallon Community Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AnimalCrazy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all-

I'm looking to start a new community tank in a 55 gallon. I have had many of the species I want before but I am a newbie at larger tanks. I currently have a list of what I want, but I am looking for advice on numbers of fish to get, as well as compatibility. Please feel free to give me all the advice I need. I will not be offended as I am in the position of veteran owner reprimanding newbies on many hamster and guinea pig forums.

Ok, here goes:

5 neon tetras
5 rummynose tetras
1 Mandarin Shrimp
1(or 2) German Blue Ram(s)
1 Cory Panda Catfish
1 Gold Mystery Snail
1 Albino Mystery Snail
5 Zebra Longfin Danios
5 Golden White Clouds
3 African Clawed Frogs
1 Assasin Snail
1 Ghost Shrimp
1 Japonica Amano Shrimp
1 Agazassi Cory Cat
15 or so Guppies

What do you think? Is this too many? Are they all compatible with each other?
Thanks for all advice!

1. Improper quanity of individual shoal/schools
2. Cw and tropical are mixed
3. Hard and soft gh/kh are mixed in your list.

Get tap ph, gh/kh and build your stock around that.

1. Improper quanity of individual shoal/schools
2. Cw and tropical are mixed
3. Hard and soft gh/kh are mixed in your list.

Get tap ph, gh/kh and build your stock around that.

Sorry, could you give me an idea of which fish/invertebrates you are referring to?

I was unaware that any of these were CW fish.

Can you give an example of hard and soft gh/kh being mixed here?

Interms of the schools/shoals, which species are you referring to?

Thanks for your quick reply! I am just a little unsure of the abbreviations you are using. Would you mind using the whole words? Thank you!

Mountain minows are cw
Rest are tropical. Tetra mostly prefer lower kh/gh but guppies prefer harder water.