55g Mixed African Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

WhiteWidow11

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey AA!

Just redid my 55 since joining AA I have been inspired to give my fish a better home. I just added a bunch more cichlid stones and rock. This is my first attempt going past a few fake plants and a rock or so, I think it came out good.

I packed the rockwork in a bit more since all the cichlid stones are hollow, and there are tons of ways to swim thru it. Its so cool when they go in one side of the formation and come out the other and I have no idea how. I wanted to try a live plant also so there is a java fern in the front. I think this tank is gonna look even better once all the rocks get some algae growth and get some more coloring on them. That way the natural and manmade rocks will blend better. Right now the new cichlid stones are really light.

Here are some berfore and after shots. As you can see in the last picture, all 15 fish are completely hidden in the rockwork, they only come out to feed really lol so I think they love it!

Sent from my Droid using Aquarium.

Attachments

• ForumRunner_20110402_001724.jpg
    ForumRunner_20110402_001724.jpg
    62.8 KB · Views: 154
  • ForumRunner_20110402_001820.jpg
    ForumRunner_20110402_001820.jpg
    63.2 KB · Views: 164
  • ForumRunner_20110402_001931.jpg
    ForumRunner_20110402_001931.jpg
    61.7 KB · Views: 158
  • ForumRunner_20110402_002013.jpg
    ForumRunner_20110402_002013.jpg
    63.5 KB · Views: 166
  • ForumRunner_20110402_002056.jpg
    ForumRunner_20110402_002056.jpg
    62.8 KB · Views: 168
Any comments? First attempt at this, would like to hear feedback good or bad.

Thanks

Sent from my Droid using Aquarium

Thanks Carey :)