Algae Hypothesis...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

scubasteve

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have this problem with algae in my tank, mainly a green algae that grows on the rocks and a green/brown slimy sheet algae that grows on the glass. I have been using RO/DI water for around 8 months now and the algae is still there. My tank always has higher nitrate levels also(don't know an exact number off the top of my head but I know its on the upper end). I feed my fish formula frozen cubes for dwarf angels usually by just breaking them in two and putting them in the water every other day...I was reading some posts about liquid that is in the frozen food that can cause high phosphates.

My three questions are, do you think my feeding habits could be contributing to some of the algae growth?
and..
Are the high nitrates a result of the algae growth?(my nitrite and ammonia are zero)

Any ideas on what I can change or adjust to lower the amount of algae?

The frozen foods supposedly contain a lot of phosphates. I usually thaw a cube in RO water, then rinse it in RO water. To get rid of the last few stubborn phosphates, I use phosguard. That is pretty much taking care of the hair algae.

From what I understand, any phosphate is too much and will cause algae problems.

I would try a different type of food. preferably frozen and see if you notice a change.
Are the high nitrates a result of the algae growth?
Just the opposite. Algae growth is a result of the high nitrates. Have you checked your phosphate level?
Any ideas on what I can change or adjust to lower the amount of algae?