Angelfish Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GallonsOfFun

Aquarium Advice Freak
Few questions regarding angles I couldn't find online. Here's the tank they will be going into: 55g, amazon inspired, planted. Inhabitants: 10-15 cardinal tetra (I know they may eat these - I'm getting juvenile angels to try and lessen the possibility of this), 10-15 rummynose tetra, 6 cories, and 5 ottos OR BN pleco).

1. Was planning on 2 angels but would 4 be ok in this tank, even during breeding?

2. Is it necessary to get a male and a female? What if I got 2 females or 2 males (or 4 females/males).

3. If I got a male and a female, is it an issue if they don't pair up?

Thanks, I'm a total angel newbie.

1. No. We have like 5 in our 60g. When mine in my 37g laid eggs I didn't see any unusual aggression.

2. Not necessary. I didn't sex the ones I got, but I highly doubt that I got 5 males or 5 females.

3. Also no. They aren't necessarily schooling but the more the merrier.

Few questions regarding angles I couldn't find online. Here's the tank they will be going into: 55g, amazon inspired, planted. Inhabitants: 10-15 cardinal tetra (I know they may eat these - I'm getting juvenile angels to try and lessen the possibility of this), 10-15 rummynose tetra, 6 cories, and 5 ottos OR BN pleco).

1. Was planning on 2 angels but would 4 be ok in this tank, even during breeding?

2. Is it necessary to get a male and a female? What if I got 2 females or 2 males (or 4 females/males).

3. If I got a male and a female, is it an issue if they don't pair up?

Thanks, I'm a total angel newbie.