Betta fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GouramiCichlid

Aquarium Advice Activist
So guys I saw this betta fish at pet smart for two dollars it was on sale and I instantly wanted it he was gorgeous! But I didn't buy it because I don't have a home for him atm I was thinking about getting a five gallon since petco has that a dollar a.gallon sale or.should.I.do ten? Would he be happier.in a ten gallon? Also do they need filters I heard they didn't like water.movement so I'm not sure if.I.should buy a filter for him I've kept fish for a while but I have no experience with bettas so.if you expert betta.keepers.could lend a helping.hand.that would.be awesome :)

Sent from my C6606 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

So guys I saw this betta fish at pet smart for two dollars it was on sale and I instantly wanted it he was gorgeous! But I didn't buy it because I don't have a home for him atm I was thinking about getting a five gallon since petco has that a dollar a.gallon sale or.should.I.do ten? Would he be happier.in a ten gallon? Also do they need filters I heard they didn't like water.movement so I'm not sure if.I.should buy a filter for him I've kept fish for a while but I have no experience with bettas so.if you expert betta.keepers.could lend a helping.hand.that would.be awesome :)

A betta would delighted in either size. Yes, they do need a filter, but one with a gentle flow because they have big fins that make them clumsy swimmers. Also, try avoiding a filter with an intake filter stock, they like to wrap themselves around them and beat up their fins. An intake vent would be better for them. The main question is: do you want to have tankmates? If yes, then grab a 10g. If not, then they will be forever grateful for a 5g.