Betta in 2gal?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

corinne118s

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey guys! I have an extra (really cool) 2gal deskstop aquarium. Not sure what to do with it but I think I want to venture into the betta world (seems like EVERYONE has one). The tank is filtered and can fit a small heater if necessary. Is 2gal too small? I'm getting mixed messages. Please let me know!

If 2gal is OK give me some set-up ideas! I'd like to use sand

I would use it for a betta you could have dark sand /gravel to bring the betta out or something.

ok great! I have some leftover white sand I'll use and plant it. Does it matter what plant goes in? Would driftwood be too much?

Also does it matter what type of betta? The stores i've looked at have TONS of options its overwhelming.

Sorry for all the questions! I'm a newbie!

Usually 2.5g is the accepted minimum for a Betta but 5g is usually better. That being said if you can keep up your water changes I'd say it'll be ok. I'd suggest a smaller female though.

corinne118s said:
ok great! I have some leftover white sand I'll use and plant it. Does it matter what plant goes in? Would driftwood be too much?

Also does it matter what type of betta? The stores i've looked at have TONS of options its overwhelming.

Sorry for all the questions! I'm a newbie!

Mumma is right about all that but you will have to make sure to do PWC. I would also say a female betta but you can have whatever kind (crown tail , double tail ,moon) . A small piece of drift wood I guess would be okay. Bettas don't eat plants and are compatible with all freshwater so any I think are okay .

Here is a list of some other betta species: Betta Species
Some of these might be better than a betta splendens. Personally, I wouldn't put a betta splendens in a 2g tank.
What are the dimensions of the tank?
What about least killifsh?