Building a Corydora Paradise

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Biosfear

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm about to turn my 55 gallon tank into a corydora paradise / breeder. I've been keeping these dudes for several years and have never even had them lay eggs! I'm going to put my 2 bronze Corys and 6 false julii in there with probably a few more additions to expand the gene pool a bit.

Anybody have any suggestions on the layout?

I'm going to plant it heavily with crypt wendtii, foxtail, and some cabomba. (transplanted from my other aquarium)
Sand substrate of course.
Will they want little caves? How do they like them?

Anything else to help maximize my odds at success?

Thanks doooods!

Mine like to place eggs on amazon sword leaves, they are somewhat cheap and fill up a large space so they are always good if you have the lighting.

My cories never really utilize caves, I have seen them go in them from time to time, but they are just as content without them.

As far as getting them to spawn, you just need mature males and females. Once you have them well fed just do a big 50-75% water change with slightly cooler water once every few days, it seems to be a good trigger to get them going. When refilling the tank I usually let the hose go full blast so they get a major current going in there, it makes them think it's the rainy season.

My black corys just spawned for the first time in a year last week. Before that they spawned regularly every week for about 2 months or so, and then it just stopped for no reason.

I've noticed mine go into egg laying frenzy after water changes and after eating live foods.

I really hate doing water changes in my big aquariums. ;(

Looks like I'll be busy giving these guys plenty of fresh water.