Cichlid tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Im pretty new to cichlids my self but I'm going to say first thing is to pick if you want africans and from what lake or if you want south america/central american cichlids. I personally like africans because of there colors and they dont go over 6 inches in size. I have a really simple set up with 4 yellow labs, 4 johanni, 3 acei, 3 OB Peacock, and a Rainbow Shark in a 75 gallon tank.

Im pretty new to cichlids my self but I'm going to say first thing is to pick if you want africans and from what lake or if you want south america/central american cichlids. I personally like africans because of there colors and they dont go over 6 inches in size. I have a really simple set up with 4 yellow labs, 4 johanni, 3 acei, 3 OB Peacock, and a Rainbow Shark in a 75 gallon tank.

and before anybody asks, you are doing a fishless cycle first correct?

there's a ton of info here, I'm pretty much brand new here and have already learned so much(nowhere near "knowledgeable"). read up, check out some other members tanks and ask a lot of specific questions rather than "im looking for info".

Sorry if I'm coming off harsh, I don't mean to, im just inebriated and can't figure out proper ways of putting things :banghead:

to answer your post, Brock's got it pretty much on. Don't mix lakes, don't mix continents, read up on which ones get BIG(some do) & what their needs are(example acei's need a 5-6ft tank because of their swimming around)
I'll note one thing from personal experience(so it's not a hard fact but it's happened to me) my rainbow shark in my malawi tank doesn't get food much. The cichlids tear through it so fast & fight him back from it. I think mine is just a submissive one and will probably go into my angel tank when I get the bigger tank for them. Other than that have fun with it and post pics (y)