Clam Placement As well as new additions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
C

cj10488

I went to the LFS today and picked up a few new Items for the tank..

Derasa Clam
Hammer Coral
Stylophora Coral

Got an Awesome Deal The only thing is Does the Clam Look like its placed in a good area??? Should I move it??? Also Please let me know about the other 2 additions...

Tia,
James

here is another of the clam

I also Enclosed a full shot of the tank.. The Clam is on the Far left hand side of the tank

TIA,
James

no I do not have alot of algae.. Just the normal everyday algae that accumulates on the glass... Its been nearly a week since the last time I cleaned the Glass Which In fact I did Just after I took the pictures..

James

im tqalking about on the sand bed? im new to this so dont take it the wrng way :mrgreen:

no there is not really any algae on the sand bed... Most of the "clean up crew" takes care of the algae on the Sand floor...

Well, on the clam, I think so long as it is situated under the middle of the bulbs on that side of the tank, it should be fine. I'm not sure about PC, but reg floresceants and VHOS and HOs are the most intense in the middle of the bulb, I think PCs are more evenly distributed, but I still think it is prudent to keep it towards the middle of the bulb. FWIW, I didn't see an algae problem ;) Hammer corals are not found in the sandbed in the wild and I would recommend you move it to the rock work. It would be very easy for the coral to pick up some sand, kicked up by a fish or crab, and irritate the flesh to the point of infection. I remember you were having an alk problem, IME, hammers are very sensitive to changes in alk (mosly low alk and PH), so monitor these closely and take appropriate measure to keep them stable.