Converting 20Gal. Cichlid tank to a S.Amer. tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Crepe

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hello, I'm both new to this site and also to planting. I've been keeping fish for almost 10 years now and have mostly been working on my 600 gallon outdoor koi pond, holding 2 20" koi and several goldfish, a cory, and 2 buenos aires tetras (amazingly they survived this winter's chills in Texas [the water reached around 40F]) and they've all been doing well for about 4 years.

I'm currently now thinking about converting my 20gallon Mbuna tank housing an ice zebra, auratus, and jewel cichlid into a planted S. American tank. I've already selected my fish species at my local LFS but I have several questions:

1.) I need to convert the hard water 8.4ph at the moment, to around 7.0ph. Can I do this by doing a large, 50% water change and then running CO2 through the water for a week or so to acidify the water? I don't really want to reset the aquarium and recycle it. I'm thinking if I acidify the water over a long enough period of time I can let the bacteria acclimate to less than auspicious conditions. (Through my experience i've found that bacteria like harder more alkaline water.)

2.) Can I leave the crushed coral in the tank and just layer over a bedding of fluorite substrate? Or do I have to tear up the bacteria beds that have already set in. I know I'm going to take out the limestone and conch shells inside.