Corydoras Problems!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Wingman-Goose

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi,

I have been keeping fish for about 3 years properly. In this time I have kept numerous different fish and accept that at times mistakes will be made and some fish will be lost. However, I would say other than losing discus due to a bullying problem and the odd tetra when I have bought large batches I have generally had very healthy / thriving fish.

That is apart from Cory's. I have tried several different kinds of Cory's and never seem to have any success. I have probably lost about 25-30 Cory's over 3 years and have about decided that I will not buy any again despite really liking them. Apart from 4-5 Sterbai which are around 2-3 years old I never seem to be able to keep them for longer that a few months ( Mainly Pandas and Julii where problems have been had ). Generally they seem to go from fine to the point of no return overnight.

Would be very interested to see if anyone else has suffered the same problems as myself or whether they are a fish I am destined never to have any success with?

Thanks

I have only kept albinos, but I've always been quite successful.

What do you feed them? What size is your tank? How many do you keep at a time? What kind of substrate do you use? What are your water params? Any other bottom dwellers that you keep?

I have tried different variations. They have been in a 45 gallon and some in a 90 gallon. I did make a mistake by putting several different kinds together and they over competing for food.

However, I have had the same problems when I have had them in a tank as the only bottom dwellers as well. I keep nitrates below 40 and have no nitrites or ammonia readings. I check temperature is compatible with the fish I have.

The substrate is Oliver Knott Nature Soil.