couple questions...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mjb018

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey guys/gals, I''m new here and I'm working on building a 29 gal aquarium. First, I'm kinda confused on the whole cycling thing. I read the write up on it and was wondering, do I really have to wait 5-6 weeks before I can put in any fish?

Also, another thing I'm kinda confused with is the sump or filtration system...
I was thinking of getting a filter system that hangs onto the side or back of the tank, but am not too sure if this a good system. Anybody have advice on this? Also, how important is it to get the "bumbbler"(i dont know the exact name) thing for a tank.

One more thing, is it safe to use tap water (with a treatment) for an aquarium.

sorry, I'm really a newb at this. Any info would be greatly appreciated.(y)

Last edited:
Well, you're posting the Fresh Water section so I'll assume you want a FW tank. Sumps are primarily used for Salt Water tanks as a place to hide equipment, and add water volume to a tank. Most FW tanks don't use one. Tanks that are predrilled for sump use are sold as "Reef Ready".

I'll let the FW experts chime in on the rest. However, when I had a FW tank I used a cannister filter for filtration.

And... Welcome to AA.

Cycling doesn't always take that long, especially if you can get some filter material from an established tank. I'd highly recommend doing a fishless cycle. It's less work in the long run and you don't have to worry about killing your fish. A little patience here pays off.

Sumps are basically big filters that you can customize to fit your needs. I'd call it overkill on a 29g. I have an AquaClear 70 HOB filter on my 29g and it does an awesome job. Always get a filter rated for a larger tank than the one you have. Manufacturers like to rate their filters' capacities a lot more generously than I do.