cycling , good bad?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

samtehbam

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey there newbie here started a salt water tank and I have some concerns I am at day 3 and I did my Api tests the oh was 7.8 or 7.4, ammonia looked to be at 8ppm and no nitrites or nitrates. I used prime and stability on day one and water is still some what cloudy less then before. The live rocks are decaying a lot of matter and it stinks like hell. Is all of that normal???

Perfectly normal. You're still very early in the cycling stage but you should see a drop in ammonia and a rise in nitrites soon. Also, while live rock is curing it's normal for it to give off an unpleasant smell.

The only concern I see is the ph is a little low. You want to aim for around 8.2.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Oh thank god the smell eventually go!!! As for the ph, I know there are some products that can increas p, are they safe?

Usually ph can easily be maintained by your salt mix, aragonite sand, etc. Buffers are optional and are safe but make sure to test and dose slowly throughout the week. You don't wanna spike the ph. I'd only look into this if your ph is truly at 7.4.

Personally, my ph sits around 7.9 and I try not to mess with it so much. What's most important in this hobby is consistency. So a ph that is constant at 7.9 is a lot better than one that is 7.9 one day and 8.3 the next.

All right thanks Oscarr!!

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Had to use tap water

I highly recommend you invest in an RODI unit in the near future. It'll save you a lot of headaches.

Thing is I can't play around with the plumbing

Look for lfs that sells ro/di water it's dumb to pay for water yes but it will save you a lot of headaches in future

Sent from my SM-G900T using Aquarium Advice mobile app