Dead Ghost Shrimp :(

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Talbott37

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi- I'm new to aquariums and have a small (12 gal) FW tank that I started in February... Within the past two weeks I've lost both of my ghost shrimp, which have been with me since the beginning... The only thing I've changed was the use of distilled water for my water changes for the last two or three weeks in an attempt to get my extremely hard water under control (above 300), but I think this may have caused a lower pH? Is that possible? And could that have killed my shrimp? I just want to correct any mistakes I'm making so I don't do the same thing again, and can hopefully keep my remaining tank residents healthy. Details of my setup are below, and any advice is very, very welcome...

12 gal fluval edge tank
2 glo-tetras
2 glo-danios
1 julii cory
1 Oto
2 ghost shrimp (deceased)
A varying number of unintentional plant-related snails

Medium gravel
3 anubias barteri plants
Driftwood
2 artificial plants

Deep blue mini-stix heater, temp 74 degrees
Nitrite 0-20
Nitrate 0
Hardness 150
Chlorine 0
Alkalinity 0
pH 6.2

Water changes/gravel vacuum weekly
3 gallons changed per week

Food:
Daily -
Omega One Flakes
2 small Hikari Tropical sinking wafers
Every other Day-
1/4 of a Hikari Tropical Algae Wafer

Welcome to AA!! Your off to a great start! A few simple suggestions will help to get things back in order and keep things running smoothly. First, invest in a good liquid test kit such as the API fw master test kit. Strips are inaccurate at best. Most lfs sell them as well as Amazon and Ebay.