Filters

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Hello! I was just wondering what you guys think is the best brand filter. Thanks!

Are you trying to start a Fluval vs Marineland vs Ehiem vs (other brand) war here? :)

This may have to be broken down by category: Canister, HOB, Internal, Nano, etc.

For HOB filters I prefer the Fluval Aqua Clear series. Reasons: simplicity, flexible media options, performance.

HOB- Aquaclear

Canister- Eheim

Why can't we have a mature conversation about which filter we each feel is best?

I think it'll be fine.
i have limited experience with caniaters. The last one I had was a Marineland Magnum 350 (that was in the 80s). It included a micron sleeve and diatomaceous earth for super polishing the water. Could never afford an Ehiem; that was the gold standard from what I recall (though the Fluval canister series seem to have decent features).

According to the profile of Platiesareawesome (the OP) we are talking about one ten gallon tank.

Probably the best choice for that would be an aquaclear 20 HOB.

Hey platies, have you purchased another aquarium and not put it in your profile?

Depends on the size of your tank, if you're only running a small tank then you only need an internal/HOB filter. Anything over 20 gallons I'd say get a canister personally.

Canister filters:
Value for money: Rena XP Series
Performance: Eheim Pro 3 Series
All-rounder for cost and performance: Fluval 106/206/306/406/FX6

Depends on the size of your tank, if you're only running a small tank then you only need an internal/HOB filter. Anything over 20 gallons I'd say get a canister personally.

Canister filters:
Value for money: Rena XP Series
Performance: Eheim Pro 3 Series
All-rounder for cost and performance: Fluval 106/206/306/406/FX6

Another good value for money is the Eheim classic series (2213/15/17)