Guppy tail edges look grey? Not sure why

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

certified_lusor

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everyone, this is my first time using this but anyway I’ll try to get straight into the context for my dilemma.
I recently got 2 guppies from my Environmental Science class since my other lab mates didn’t want them. I named the fish Dante and Fernando :) Currently they’re in a small 1 gallon container (eco column lab) I know they should be in a place bigger so I plan on moving them to my 5 gallon tank soon (it’s not set up it’s been empty for years) I’m saving up to buy a filter and heater (please give me recommendations on which is the best for them) Since my budget is tight right now and the weather is getting colder (it’s starting to get single digits almost negatives) im using a heated blanket to try and keep them somewhat warm since they’re tropical fish.
Now the problem at hand is Dante. His tail is noticeable orange colored and recently I’ve seen that his coloration is becoming this light and darkish grey around the edges and I think there is a tear (suspicious but can’t confirm) and I’m not sure if it’s because of the cold he’s been in or if it’s stress related I don’t know. I have a video of him chasing after Fernando and I’ll upload that soon so you can see it. (I’ll do my best to get a good quality picture) I hope I can help him :(

Please take a read through the "unhealthy fish" sticky and provide as much information as you are able. A clear photo would also help.

https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f17/before-posting-about-unhealthy-fish-read-this-32451.html