HELP! Something is wrong with my tank!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JulieB

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm going to apologize right now for the impending novel. I just want to give you guys as much info as possible about my tank to help you help me figure out what's wrong.

I have a 56 Gallon plexi-glass tank with a built-in wet/dry filter. I have 2 pearl gouramis (Male & Female), 2 angel fish (one veiled), 1 pleco, 4 assorted cory cats, 2 yo-yo loaches, 2 black skirt tetras, 2 serape tetras, 3 congo tetras, 1 columbian tetra, and 2 Boesemani rainbows (was three until today), and maybe a dozen neon tetras. I feed them flake food (never clouded the water before and I've been using it for over 5 years now) and sometimes blood worms. The tank is planted with very healthy, thriving plants. There are a few sandstone rocks and a couple of pieces of driftwood/roots (everything purchased from an aquarium).

I do weekly water changes (I take out about 1/4 - 1/2 of the tank water while vacuuming and remove all of the water in the filter). I rinse the carbon and ammonia and nitrate pads at this time, and change them monthly. I change the non-treated filter pads weekly.

Now that you know my tanks life story, here's my problem: About 4 weeks ago, the tank got cloudy...really cloudy. I kept up on the water changes and used a water-clearing solution I got at the store, no change. My husband did a major water change last week (took out about 3/4 of the water). At this time he filled the filter chamber with scalding water to kill the hundreds of snails, then vacuumed it and the dead snails out before refilling the tank. The tank was clear for about a day, then it clouded back up.

About 2 months ago the tank was overrun with algae and I finally got rid of it with "Algae Destroyer". It did cloud the water, but I haven't added it for about a month now.