Help with stocking my tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ian086

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hi all. I'm a newbie and need some advice on choosing some fish for my tank.I have a 55g which has been set up and running for about 3 months now.It's fully cycled and i already have some community fish which are doing great.I do the usual maintance, 20-30% weekly water change and my water tests are constantly good- 0 ammonia,0 nitrites and <20 nitrates.My water is crystal clear and after fiddling around with the set-up a few times i'm pretty happy with the result.I have a few medium size ornuments and one corner is quite heavily planted with large fake plants.(sorry but i'm not sure how to post photos). I have 2 mollies, 2 platies, 2 swordtails and 1 columbian tetra(1 died recently) and 1 small pleco??(sucker fish) . My local fish store is small and independent but very helpful. He only has a small selection of freshwater fish(guppies,mollies,angels,swordtails etc..) He said he can order stock for me. I want to stock bright,colourful,active,medium sized community fish..I intend to get some guppies and neons..I would appreciate any advice or suggestions(common names would be great) on fish i could add and how many fish i can safely stock as i don't want to overstock...Sorry if i went on a bit, but i want to give as much info as possible!! If i left anything out please let me know. Any help or advice will be greatly appreciated... Thanks Ian:fish1::fish1::fish1:

Hello and welcome to AA! First off you need to up your school of Columbia tetras to 6. Tetras do much better in schools of at least 6 fish. If you like neons I would suggest seeing if you can get Cardinal tetras instead. IMO they are much hardier and actually more colorful than the neons, plus they get bigger. You could do 8. So you would have the following:
2 Mollies
2 Platies