High ammonia

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ywagner

Aquarium Advice Freak
So I have adequate filtration, and my tank is cycled, but for some reason my ammonia is rising. I believe it might be because of the sudden addition of aka ammonia, but I don't know if it will disappear over time and water changes or if I should add new bacteria colony?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Well I cycled my tank a really long time ago, like 6-7 years. My ammonia reads around .25 ppm, and I'm pretty sure it's just from the over addition of new fish, do you know if this will just correct itself, or if I should take more action than a water change

What size tank and how many fish did you add?

I would suspect it's the addition of new fish and should stabilize with a few PWC. But I am a newbie.

Whenever I add new fish, I always assume I am going to need to do a few small PWC on top of my normal routine.

It's a 20 gal, and I have a pike cichlid and some julidochromis and giant danios to give food competition to pike (he was having trouble eating), I hope it will balance out, and good to know!

Yeah, it's definitely the new addition of fish. The problem will correct itself over a few weeks but just be sure to keep the ammonia and nitrite level below 0.25ppm with water changes.

The big problem with your tank atm is that it's overstocked. The fish you chose to go in there need a larger tank than a 20g is able to provide. It might be best to either get a new tank or rehome them as it won't be a suitable home for them as they grow.

Yeah, it's definitely the new addition of fish. The problem will correct itself over a few weeks but just be sure to keep the ammonia and nitrite level below 0.25ppm with water changes.