How to catch koi in a lake?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cdfortin

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi-I’m new to aquarium advice and love the site. Anyways, my question involves how to catch koi. My house is on a huge piece of property which has a large lake. A few years ago, I released a few small koi into the lake. It turns out that they thrived and grew into 24 inch beauties. Now that I have built a large koi pond, I want to transfer the koi from the lake to the pond so that they are more visible. However, I have no idea how to catch them. They aren’t used to receiving pellet food, so I have to way to make them come up to me. Generally, the koi all stay in a cove that juts 50 feet into land and is about 70 feet wide. The water there is about 5 feet deep, and the koi almost always stay near the surface. So, besides using an ordinary fishnet, does anyone have any ideas as to how I can catch them? Any suggestions would be appreciated!

How big is this pond you're talking about? It would have to be pretty big to accomodate 24 inch fish.
As far as catching goes.. I've never done, nor could I explain it, but you could get one of those nets you leave in there and drage it out later on or something. When I was on lake victoria in Uganda some local fisherman did that on the property we were staying at. They tied a Large net off and came back later in the evening and started dragging it in. That's really the only thing I can think of.

yeah have to people on each side with a really large net. put weights on the bottom and drag it along the lake until you reach eachother (if its round) and you probally will catch some crayfish frogs turtles etc. gl :twisted: