Ideas & Techniques for aquascaping my new tank..

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MarineBoy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,

I have been racking my brain for ages on some 'clever' and 'effective' aquascaping for my new tank. The tank is an Orca 550 and its taller than it is wide so there will be the involvement of stacking LR. If there are any techniques for aquascaping and stacking LR please let me know as i am a total beginner.

I understand that its a personal thing for each tank but i just need a little inspiration, your help would be much appreciated - maybe even some pictures?

I would love a overhang but are there any proven techniques to make this safe?

Cheers

Attachments

• DSCF0002a.JPG
    DSCF0002a.JPG
    47.6 KB · Views: 84
Well I have an overhang in my tank. You are working with a smaller space but I'm sure you could manage it.

1001537hq0.jpg

I would stack rock in the center with flat pieces sticking out to the sides to make ledges and overhangs. I would lay out the rock and get it looking just right, then epoxy the rocks together. You couild also drill through the rocks and put a couple of dowels through them to keep them in place. That does give you the option of changing things around should the mood strike you later.

You can also use PVC and attach the rock with plastic zip ties.

Don't be afraid to lean rocks against the back wall, but leave enuf room on the sides to clean IMO. If you hand pick rocks, choose some that can lodge against each other like puzzle pieces, hopefully providing swim throu holes between them and overhangs. HTH.