Interesting Neon Tetra behavior

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ponch

Aquarium Advice Freak
I am new to fish keeping and bought 6 neons last weekend for my 5 gallon tank.... Now I realize this tank is too small for this school of neons and am working on an upgrade. But I bought them because they are peaceful community schooling fish...

So I've been closely watching them and have noticed some interesting things:

1-they don't stay in the school very much ... In fact they kinda spread out over the tank, only getting back into school formation when they are startled (eg when I'm cleaning the tank)

2-the biggest neon has staked claim to the middle bottom of the tank ... When one of his brothers swims into the space he quickly chases them out of there, looking like he is nipping them, and then returning to his position.

Is this normal for neon tetras who I assumed would stay in their school and be totally peaceful?

Is behavior related to having too small of a habitat so the alpha is becoming territorial? Is it normal despite the small habitat? Appreciate any insight into why this is playing itself out in the tank.

Most fish school instinctively as a defensive reaction, many schooling fish kept alone don't school because they feel safe, by introducing a larger CenterPiece fish you can cause them to resume their more natural schooling behavior

Big-j said:
Most fish school instinctively as a defensive reaction, many schooling fish kept alone don't school because they feel safe, by introducing a larger CenterPiece fish you can cause them to resume their more natural schooling behavior

Ah ok - interesting.

I agree about a centerpiece fish making them school more.