New to SW/ 40br fowlr build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RedNeck

Aquarium Advice Freak
I am brand new to this SW game and need a hand in direction. I picked up my 40 gallon breeder tank yesterday from petco. I am going to be making my own stand I believe. This is my list of other components I had tentatively picked out for the build so far.
150w heater
reef octopus bh1000 skimmer
koralia 750 & 550 power heads
and probably 40lbs of base rock and sand combo pack from marcorocks.com (If I do any live rock I was going to get 5lbs or so locally)

Is there any changes I should make? Any suggestions or critiques? I know I will need a hydrometer and am planning on getting an api saltwater test kit.

You're going to want a refractometer. They're 1000x more accurate. Also, your definitely going to want to add about 5lbs lr. It will help a lot in seeding the base. Best of luck!!!!!!!!

If this is going to be a fowlr you can cross the skimmer off the list, it's not needed but that being said it wouldn't be a bad thing. What are you thinking of having for fish?

You'll want anything and everything to keep the water clean. The less clean, the more frequent and larger water changes you will have to make. Skimmer IMO is a high priority in any tank.

Terrance said:
You'll want anything and everything to keep the water clean. The less clean, the more frequent and larger water changes you will have to make. Skimmer IMO is a high priority in any tank.

This is true but fish have a higher tolerance to nitrates (depending on the fish) than coral and inverts do so a skimmer is often considered optional on fowlr tanks. If you have the budget for a skimmer then get it cause it will help.