newbie to fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

metcalfe

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
first of all,

hi there people from the forum!

i've been reading stuff about fish on your forum and some other places, and i fount this particular place very good :wink:

at first i was considering having some aquarium type animal, so that i could have it in my room without any special smells or fur or anything like that.

i went after some reading and i finally elected fish

my problem: i am a total noob about this stuff, i only had a canaries (about 2 or 3) my whole life

considering all that i've read i think guppies or goldfish are the easiest fish to maintain, dunno if i'm being surrealist but i'd like them to reproduce so that i could see them through several generations (and probably get more friends to the fish hobbie ) - the species are also based on what i've seen in local pet shops

what kind of fish do you recomend?

relating to aquariums and equipment, i was thinking on buying something not very small, but also not very expensive, i'll check prices and post here
now about equipment, does one really need all that jazz? what's the strictly essential eqipment? (realisticly speaking)

i think that probably sums it up, thanx for any help at all :)

Welcome to AA!

Let's get you off on the right foot. Goldfish and guppies are easy to keep but they need proper care to thrive. Since you cannot have both in the same tank (guppies require heat of at least 76F, while goldfish can bascially be kept at room temp...68F), you will have to decide which one to go with.

Goldfish can also get very large and if they are breeding, you can easily run out of room in a tank that's less than 30gals.