Newbie with a new 25g tank.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
In my opinion that kit is not great. If I were you I would buy a tank and hood then buy the filter and heater gravel etc after. Most of the time the filters and heaters in the kits are garbage IMO. I recommend the API master test kit.

In my opinion that kit is not great. If I were you I would buy a tank and hood then buy the filter and heater gravel etc after. Most of the time the filters and heaters in the kits are garbage IMO. I recommend the API master test kit.

Alright I know about cycling the tank from some research I have done but how many fish will a 25 gallon tank support?

It depends what Kind what are you interested in visit aquarium fish . Net if you are not sure what you want then let us know and we can tell you if that would work.

I'm no expert on cichlids but some of the dwarf ones would be ok. However I don't think you can mix both. Have you looked at balloon mollies I find them quite interesting you could add some mollies and some tetras of some sort.

I'm not even that picky lol I just want a nice looking diverse tank with fish top mid and bottom if I can I actually have one of the small catfishes I am going to put in it so that would really take care of the bottom so just a few mid/top fish.

yeah they look cool I'm only going to get like one or two fish tomorrow to cycle the tank with then put my catfish and whatever else in.

you could get 7 neon tetras, they will school together.
then get 4-5 cory catfish. they also school and will clean your tank. thats what i would reccomend. thats good for a month or so, and after your water parameters look good you could get a couple more maybe.
i would reccomend doing a daily 1-3 gallon water change each day when you first get your fish. if you have any questions ask me :)