Oh no.... :( Typical beginner here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SkyeB

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everybody,
so I went into a petshop after I got given a 125l fishtank.
I asked them a few questions about what to do...trusting them... :/
I left everything running without fish for a week, then bought 7 fish... just like the person in the fishshop told me to... HE NEVER mentioned a cycle..
All was happy until my fish got red gills... I started to google red gills and came across ammonia poising... anyway I now know about the cycle and wish I couldve done a fishless cycle instead... my poor poor fishies :(
I bought an ammonia kit, pH kit and Nitrite & Nitrate Kit.
I have tested and changed the water every day since, about 25% .
And still Ammonia levels are 0.5 Nitrite: 0.5 Nitrate 20 pH OFF THE CHART :( about 8 Im guessing.
Im trying to save my fish and am just wondering what to do now... should I change the water again 25% or 50%...?
What ammonia level is ok for them?
I know it should be 0 but while cycling which level is say tolerable and still cycling the water. I'm getting some stones off a friends tank which is established and hope that helps.
Oh Im devastated about what i put my fish through... please don't judge :(

Dont worry!!! Your doing your research and your on the right track! Just stay on top of your daily water changes to keep your ammonia and nitrites @.25ppm or less (less is better). Your ph is not issue so do not stress over it. I would start by testing your tap water for ammonia, nitrites & nitrates and let us know what these read. This will be the lowest you will be able to drop your toxin levels with water changes. I would suggest investing in a bottle of Prime or Amquel Plus to help with detoxing ammonia and nitrite as well. Ill post some links with more info- please ask any questions!!! Welcome to AA, btw! :)