Overstocked or Not?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

177ichael

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello all, I am new to the hobby and the board. I recently purchased a 36g corner bowfront tank with a Rena XP2 canister filter. I have been to my LFS and have had mixed opinions on what to stock it with. So, I've come here to ask your advice. I'm planning on stocking with the following:

2 Angels
2 Dwarf Gouramis
6 Cardinals
6 Rummynose
2 Otocinclus

Will this be overstocked and will these varieties get along?

I also uploaded some pictures of my tank. Click the link below.

http://mjchen54.home.comcast.net/index.htm

Thanks.

Michael

Hiya Michael and welcome to Aquariumadvice :)

Nope, not overstocked at all, in fact, the stocking amount sounds perfect. The only thing I'd be a little concerned about is the angelfish and the neons. Neons are natural prey for wild angels, and the angels may try to eat em; no guarantees, but it is a possibility as the neons are the right size for a mouthful, especially when small, and angels are carnivores. However, they MAY get on ok if the angels are young and small, and the neons larger then an inch. This way the angels grow up with them and MAY not eat em.

Also, do you have a handle on the nitrogen cycle and its importance to fish health (not sure if you're new to all this)? If so, let us know and we'll fill you in.

Tank looks good, so does your list IMO, barring issues Alli already covered. nice to see someone asking about overstocking before it happens :)

Good luck!

I see theres some angels already in your tank, If your tank isnt cycled, you should return them NOW. They are very untolerant of ammonia/nitrites.