Pond at New House

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kdklovesfish

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello Pond People! As of now I have three FW community tanks: I'm not a fish newbie, just a pond newbie. ;) I apologize in advance for asking questions that I'm sure you guys have answered hundreds of times. I have tried researching and am just spinning my wheels.

We are buying a house that has a pond already installed in a mostly covered patio section. I have no idea how old it is or if it ever had fish. It has a water fall that works nicely, but I have no idea if it is filtered. There are currently no fish in it, but there is a wild frog that hangs out there. It seems about 2-3 foot deep and maybe a 3ft circumference. It has a black lining that is fairly covered in green algae. That's all I know.

Here's my questions:

1. How do I clean it?
  2. Do I need to figure out if it's filtered? If so, how?
  3. What are the water parameters for a pond? (I have found so many different sets of numbers that I don't know!!) How do I know when it's cycled and ready for fish?
  4. What are your favorite products and why?
  5. Other than goldfish/koi what kinds of fish can you have in an outdoor pond? I was wondering about a pleco to help control the algae.
  6. I live in North Texas, so we never get "hard freezes" but we do get hot summers. Can I keep the fish outdoors without a heater during the winter or do I need to have tank space indoors? If I do need to move the fish indoors for the winter, at what temp do they need to move? Likewise, can I keep them outdoors during the hottest part of the summer? If not, what temp do I move them in?
  7. Do I acclimate fish the same way? (putting the bag in the pond/tank and then adding water slowly to the bag)
  8. Anything else I missing...
Thanks!!!