Prego Lemon Sword first time

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JJandTrey

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So my lemon sword is obviously pregnant, but seeing as this is my first time breeding fish I don't really know what to expect. I guess my big thing is, when should I put here in the breeding box. AND, can I safely put the fry in my RCS 10gal to raise them up a bit. The momma is in my mostly livebearer community tank.

Here are a few pictures

ForumRunner_20130713_124721.jpg
Because shes so pale I can actually see through her and see the little individual embryos. Super cool.

ForumRunner_20130713_124734.jpg
I tried to get a head on pic. Is this her "squaring off"?

Thanks for the help! I want to try and save as many fry as possible.

She's very close. Be sure to add cover to the breeder box for the fry.

Personally I'm not a fan of breeder boxes. I'd rather put her in a separate tank to drop. My female green sword won't drop anywhere but in my main tank though lol

So be prepared if she doesn't "cooperate"

Ive got a 10 gallon that only has about 10 red cherry shrimp. Could I put her in there or will she eat the shrimp? I planned on putting the fry in there to mature a bit. This is my first fish birth, im intrigued.

And what do you mean cover for the breeder box? I have a bunch of frogbit if thats what you mean.