Seeding Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

savage

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm not in a pinch with this question or anything, but it was just something that I was pondering

Isn't a cycle (regardless of type) just the process of balancing benficial bacteria to the waste production of your tank?

If that's so, then wouldn't removing seeded materials from a tank create the possibility of causing a slight deficiency of BB in the tank you're taking it from?

Sorry, but sometimes I get in 'deep-thinking' mode. This would be one of those times.

I just figure that if BB can be starved to death, and over-fed (not being able to keep up with waste production), that there would naturally be an adjustment period for the BB that remain after you remove the seeded material.

I'm no scientist, so hopefully this question isn't ridiculous. Just something that popped into my grape while I was staring at my tank!

Yes that can happen which is why you want to monitor for a Mini-Cycle. Removing filter media like ceramic rings may have more impact for a mini-cycle than say removing substrate / DW etc. Fortunately, bacteria will multiply fairly fast to make up for a loss of numbers.

yeah its possible. Someone once told me that a well established tank will not run into mini-cycles once your take 1/3 of a tank's BB.

IMO, I don't really like the idea of seeding a tank. There is a fast way of cycling a tank without seeding a tank. It involves being very precise with the amount of ammonia you add to your tank everyday, and your tank can be cycled in 2 weeks.