starting a new hobby

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mcovert

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi:
I am new to fish tanks and am thinking about a 29 gallon freshwater tank. How many gold fish can I keep in it? Can I also add other fish? Thanks!!!!!
MJ

In my experience, goldfish are horrible fish to keep. They are very dirty. But I believe it is an inch of fish for every gallon or two. I can't remember.

What other kinds of fish are easy to keep healthy? I am flexible about it.

I would like the most fish possible in the tank so I can forego goldfish. Can you recommend other kinds? Thanks!

Go to your LFS (local fish store) and look around, they usually have a little sign that tells you if the fish is aggressive semi aggressive or a peaceful community tank

Great idea. I also might do a larger tank cause people have posted larger tanks are easier to maintain.

:welcome:

If you really want to shop around and plan your tank for fish then Aquarium Fish: Tropical Freshwater Fish and Saltwater Fish for Home Aquariums is an excellent site to use. It offers a lot of detailed information about fish including their recommended tank sizes. When you pick a few that you like most then I would start a new thread under the general discussion forum to get tons of people's input on stocking your tank :)

Thank you very much for the site recommendation! I am sure it will be a great resource!

This is true. But they cost a lot more money, they are only easier to maintain because if a fish or plant dies, well some fish and plants, give off toxins, and in a larger tank the more water the more dilution. For ex: if u drop a capful of bleach into a 10g the fish will prob die, but in a 150g, you prob wouldn't have to care.