Starting Up

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

knuff27

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all.

I am new to the saltwater tank game, but am reading up and wish to begin a 55 gallon fish only tank with live rock. Eventually I would like to upgrade to reef, but will begin with fish until I get more experience. Being a novice, I have some basic, but specific questions. First, is anyone aware of some good online aquarium stores or sites where I could find the tank and necessary equiptment at reasonable prices? Second is a filter question. What is the difference between cannister vs. wet/dry and what other equiptment is needed for each (e.g. powerhead)? Which would be better for a 55 gallon eventual reef? Lastly, I live in a small town, fairly isolated, and was wondering if anyone has ordered fish etc. online and how it has gone for them? Thank you all very much for your help.
:p

First, is anyone aware of some good online aquarium stores or sites where I could find the tank and necessary equiptment at reasonable prices?
www.captivereefs.com
www.drsfostersmith.com
www.liveaquaria.com
www.liverocks.com
www.marinedepot.com
Second is a filter question. What is the difference between cannister vs. wet/dry and what other equiptment is needed for each (e.g. powerhead)? Which would be better for a 55 gallon eventual reef?