Stock my 55g

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cheeky_monkey

Aquarium Advice Freak
We're moving just after Christmas (thousands of kilometres away) and of course the tank will then need time to cycle so I have a few months to get my "wishlist" ready.

I have a 55g and my only requirements is that there's colour in the tank for my childrens amusement. I want to get them involved in the care/upkeep of the fish and having interesting fish will make that a lot easier (y)

I'm starting completely from scratch and I'm a newbie so I will need help in choosing appropriate filtration, heating etc. as well. I need to purchase the hardware quite soon, or be able to order it online as I will be living in an extremely isolated town with no possible means of purchasing locally.

So, throw your suggestions at me!

55 is a good size to start with :) There are lots of options for fish, try looking around the site or at other member's tank threads. you could do a couple schools of tetras, angelfish, livebearers, etc. For filtration, more is always better! Try pickup up a canister filter if you can afford it, or an HOB. I'd recommend an Aquaclear 70 or 110 if you want an HOB filter, or an eheim ecco/classic canister filter. Heating depends on how cold your house gets. 200W or so should be good for that tank in most cases, any brand works. Then all you need is a substrate(sand is nice :) ), hood/lights, and water :p make sure to pick up a bottle of dechlorinator like Prime.

--Adeeb

I have a 55 and I have a school of tiger barbs and rosy barbs. They follow me when I walk by the tank!

Wanting color you could get some african cichlids, very bright!

I do like the tiger barbs so they're definitely a possibility.

My son likes the glass catfish, does anyone know much about those?