Stocking ideas?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KeeshyRee

Aquarium Advice Freak
Ok I have a 55 gal and a 14 gal looking for stocking ideas? Start with the 14 it's fairly planted I have 2 kuhli loaches in it I want keep and I'd like glass cats and a dwarf gourami or 2 can I do these in a 14? Now the 55 I love the look of Denison barbs maybe 6 a small pleco a shark maybe rainbow shark a blue gourami and 2 angels??? Can these work together? Where will this put me on stocking help!! Lol

Sent from my SCH-R760X using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Well I don't think kuhli loaches or glass cats should be in a 14.

Denison barbs are pretty big, but if you want them you could have some in your 55. A rainbow shark may also be fine but I am not an expert. I don't think angels and a gourami would have problems in a tank that big, but I could be wrong and every fish has a different personality.

Whats the smallest I could keep the kuhlis in?

Some good info here: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f12/kuhli-loach-tank-size-185124.html

Most say 20 gallon, some say it must be a 20 long (30x12x12 inches) and not a 20 high (24x16x12 inches). I would say that it depends on how you set it up. If it is a 20 high it should have lots of floor space available; not too many rocks and stuff on the floor, but enough to hide in (caves are good). Plants will help as a cluster of them are great to hide in but don't tank up too much space for swimming. But to be safe a 20 gallon long at least is best.