Stocking Suggestions for 55gal Office Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishyrican

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I need some ideas on stocking a 55 gal tank that sits in my office waiting room. I have had a school of tiger barbs that have been moved to a tank at home. I am running an Emperor 400 on it. I have gravel substrate and plastic plants in it since I am often out of the office. Does anybody have any suggestions about what to put in it? This time, I want to try two or three larger fish as opposed to a school of smaller fish but want something that will give the tank some life.

TIA

angel fish, i just got some and i love them... but im still learning about what can go with them.

Well, I have a gold severum (see avatar) and he is one of my all time favorite fish. They get big, about 10+ inches, so I'm not sure I would keep more than one in a 55 gallon (mine is the only sev in my 55 gallon). The good news is they are not as aggressive as some other large cichlids so you can keep them with other fish. Mine lives happily with a firemouth, convict, tiger barbs, and sailfin pleco (for whom I will have to upgrade my tank in a couple years :lol: ). Here's a pic of mine in case you want to see it:

img_413580_0_8dda74d207a442a0531bfe8576b7c31f.jpg

I think that is a great idea, Severum Mama. One with a few smaller fish and you will have a very nice display. I would not get too many other fish, though, since the filtration you have won't support it (JMO :wink: )