Strange Behavior?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MeganNoel

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I hope this is the right place to post my question, if not forgive me in advance.

We just bought a breed of red tail shark today. It is supposed to be the more docile breed (if that helps at all. Sorry I do not know the exact name since the names are all in Dutch).

Anyway he has been in the tank now for about 7 hours and has spent most of it at the surface. He is straight up and down with his mouth right at the surface usually. He is moving and breathing but I'm worried if this is normal or not. I am very new to keeping fish. We just got the tank in July and got the fish for the tank the end of August through now.

We had the water tested before we bought any fish at all and everything was good but that was about 3 weeks ago. Someone on another forum recommended retesting the water but it is all ready very late Saturday night and so I cannot do anything about testing it (that I know of) until Monday.

Any help would be most appriciated. I want to take care of my fish as best as is humanily possible!

Perhaps there isn't enough oxygen in the water?

I don't really know too much about this yet but for those who do to help you effectively they'll probably need to know a litle more about your tank; i.e what other fish you have, tank size, what type of filter you run, etc.

I hope your fish improves!

We have a 65 liter (about 17.5 gallon) tank. I am not sure what the filter system is called but it sits inside the tank against the back and sucks in water and then pumps it back out. You can see that the water is circulating through the tank as even the small plants at the bottom are moving slightly (though I realize that doesn't mean enough oxygen is flowing.)