Stress Zyme Vs. De-chlorinator?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

follicle

Aquarium Advice Regular
Last night before performing my weekly water change, I remembered that I had run out of Top Fin de-chlorinator the last time I did a change. I ran out to a local pet store not far from my house, but the only thing I could find was Stress zyme. I have had no experience with Stress zyme, but I noted on the bottle that it also acts as a de-chlorinator. The label mentioned that it could be added while doing water changes so I went with the stress zyme.

One major thing I noticed was the amount of stress zyme I had to add compared to my Top Fin de-chlorinator. The stress zyme bottle directed me to add 5 ml for every 10 gallons, so about 25 ml. The de-chlorinator I usually use only calls for 1 ml for every 10 gallons. I thought this was kind of odd, but I added the stress zyme anyway.

Well, today my tank is a bit murky. It almost has a slimy cooking oil look to it. I mean, it's not terrible, but it is noticeable from a distance. I have relatives coming down for the first time this weekend, and I'd like the tank and the fish to be in ship shape.

Is this murkiness from the stress zyme? Should I just do another water change and go back to using de-chlorinator?

Thanks!

My guess is that the murkiness comes from the aloe vera in the Stress Zyme, although I'll tell you I've not used the product myself. I'm pretty sure I've heard about this issue from others that have used it. I'm not a big believer in the extra ingredients in dechlorinators, like the aloe in Stress Zyme that supposedly stimulates fishes' slime coats. I'm betting that it was more expensive than the Top Fin brand, plus as you said more of the product is required to dechlorinate your water.