Suggestions?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Joyler

Aquarium Advice Addict
So...I've had aquariums before, but I've always just used the cheap $20 10g tanks...what kind do you guys use? And what tanks show off your fish the best? I'm thinking I want a 30g tank give or take a few gallons...thanks!

I have a 20g and a 29g and plan on purchasing a 55g here soon. Figure out what fish you want first then decide on the size tank you need.

What kind of suggestions are you looking for? Suggestions for a good size tank? Suggestions for fish? I will say that a 10g tank for $20 isn't cheap if its just a tank... Walmart has them for $12 ;)

I am a newbie and started with a 29 gallon bow front I got for a pretty good deal at Pet Co after the new year. I really like it's size and the bow front!! It is enough for more than several fish but not so big that maintenance is intimidating.

Good Luck!!

neilanh said:
Moving to the FW - Getting started section

Oops...sorry! Um...I want it to be a community. Neons, Betta, pretty standard...was wondering first what brands are good, and also how many fish is a good fit for, say, 30 gallons...I promise I'll get better at specifics and where to put posts... *blush*

Brand isn't really a big consideration unless you're wanting a custom tank, show tank, or something of that nature (high dollar stuff). Petco does a sale sometimes where their tanks are $1/gal up to a certain size. I don't have one nearby, but its a really good deal if you have one close by.