T5 or CF lighting for 75-gallon native tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gzeiger

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I'm completely new at this. I've been lighting my 75 with 2x40W fluorescents, which is woefully inadequate. My plants are almost all native from marginal habitats here in the South, and they need high light. Nearly all would grow wild in less than 2 feet of water in otherwise direct sun, and I now have them 2 feet deep in a room with essentially no sunlight.

In the current lighting the only long term survivors have been some ceratophyllum, valliseneria and anacharis, plus a couple emergent species that have put leaves above the surface, and a bit of java moss I couldn't resist. The val isn't doing very well, and I have some other plants I'd like to use but they just keep dying.

I'm looking at a couple options, but I know very little about it. Choices I am considering:

http://www.catalinaaquarium.com/product_info.php?cPath=71_136&products_id=1423

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_display.cfm?pcatid=13733 (the 48" one)

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_display.cfm?pcatid=16770

T5HO, without a doubt.

Those Catalina's you linked are nice. If you want the mother of all T5 lights, go TEK. Check out seedsetc.com, call bob over there and he can get you a good price. They are more expensive, but well worth the money in my opinion.

What's the advantage of the Catalina over the Nova Extreme?

What's better about the TEK? The descriptions I see from various Google sources sounds about the same as what I was looking at except for the price.

I have no experience with the Novas, but know the catalinas to be very nice fixtures.

A friend of mine did a comparison, TEK vs. Catalinas. It's on here somewhere, I'll see if I can find it for you.