Using Bio-Spira in a new tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

twestrope

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am a complete newbie. I am starting out small with an Eclipse 12. I set up the tank and finally found ammonia at the store over the weekend. Sunday I filled the tank in anticipation of starting the cycle on Monday. By Monday after reading various threads on this forum I decided to use Bio-Spira to get an immediate cycle.

Two questions about using Bio-Spira:

* My Bio-Spira should be here on Thursday. I leave for a 3 day weekend out of town on Friday so I will refrigerate the Bio-Spira and plan on adding it next week with my fish. Since the water will have been in the tank for 7-8 days (filter running) do I need to drain the tank and start with fresh water or should I be ok since there is nothing alive in the tank at the moment?

I read on the site that "you cannot overdose Bio-Spira". Does that mean adding too much won't cause harm to the fish or adding too much will cause problems. I wasn't sure of the meaning of the phrase.

The forum has been very helpful in helping me learns some of the pitfalls with starting a new tank. Thanks.

twestrope said:
* My Bio-Spira should be here on Thursday. I leave for a 3 day weekend out of town on Friday so I will refrigerate the Bio-Spira and plan on adding it next week with my fish. Since the water will have been in the tank for 7-8 days (filter running) do I need to drain the tank and start with fresh water or should I be ok since there is nothing alive in the tank at the moment?

I read on the site that "you cannot overdose Bio-Spira". Does that mean adding too much won't cause harm to the fish or adding too much will cause problems. I wasn't sure of the meaning of the phrase.

As long as you have had the filter running and it was dechlored i will be fine.