Water Changes and Boesemani Rainbow Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

abw0004

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hello all,
I am brand new to this forum and having an aquarium in general. My family has had fish before but this is my first time having personal fish.

As a graduation/Christmas present I was given a Fluval Accent 25 gallon tank. I thought this would be a good starter tank to get to know the ropes before I do bigger tanks in my future. It came with 150 watt pre-set heater, LED light system, uses bio beads and filter cartridges, etc. Here is a link to look at it: Accent | Lifestyle Home Aquariums | Fluval.

I have since set up the tank and put in gravel, put in 9 live plants (excluding two moss balls), driftwood and a fake tree root thing that is hallow inside for hiding, ect. The tank has been cycling for a little over two weeks now. The water has discolored due to the driftwood but it is not terrible. I first put in 6 Neon Tetras for a couple days as test fish and one died I think due to it being sick. I also did a 50% water change to help with the discolored water and boiled the driftwood. Today the other 5 are perfectly fine.

I couple days later I added a Clown Pleco, two guppies, and two Boesemani Rainbows. I came to regret that as three days later the rainbows died one day apart. Every other day for about two weeks I have taken water samples in to make sure nothing was wrong with the water to try to curb disaster in the tank. The readings have been fine, even the days they died, with the ammonia has been present but "safe." The temperature of the water has always been fine. The store employees were confused on why they died because the readings were normal and thought maybe because the rainbows were in their tank for six months, changing them to a new tank may have been too much.