what do i need? New to saltwatertanks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

imcgary

Aquarium Advice Regular
This is my first attempt at a saltwater tank. im planning on starting with a FOWLR tank. Im not sure what kind of fish i will eventually keep i am open for suggestions for a new saltie. I have kept freshwater fish before so i do have some experience. basically I NEED YOUR HELLLLLP!!! 8O [/i]

I too am new to the hobby but this is what I have gathered so far.

Tank (Larger the better)

LR should be 1.5 - 2.0 lbs per gal

A good saltwater test kit

Cycle the tank fully (WITHOUT FISH - It is cruel to place fish is such a harsh environment)

Protein Skimmer

Sump Tank (optional location to store equipment - heater, skimmer, etc)

Make sure the fish you get are compatible - some can be very territorial

I look forward to seeing/reading about your setup

Good Luck and Enjoy

Robmar has some great advice. If you are going FOWLR, you could get by with out the skimmer and use the money for other equip/critters.
I would also suggest getting
garlic (helps the immune system and stimulates feeding)
zoe
selcon (both are great additives for healthier fish)
get a refractometer instead of a hydrometer, easier to read and much more accurate, IMO.
What size tank are you thinking?
As for fish, I like to browse liveaquaria.com for ideas, there is also saltwaterfish.com, thatpetplace.com. I generally get most of my equipment from drsfosterandsmith.com. Take a look at those sites and any other to get an idea.

my tank is 125g. i got a very godd deal on it. but now i have to buy all the STUFF. $$$