beginner to cichlids

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nickstanley995

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey everyone I've recently had the thought of starting a cichlid tank! I have zero experience though. I came here for some advice so I do not screw up and hurt any fish by not properly caring for them. So I have a few questions.
What is a smaller size tank i could buy and how many could go into it?
I'm a university student so I dont have thousands of dollars to poor into this tank.
Is there any I should stay away from being a beginner?
Are there some i should buy BECAUSE I am a beginner to cichlids?
Any information or answers is much appreciated!
Thank you

Look into bolivian rams, they are considered a dwarf cichlid that is fairly easy to keep. The smallest tank you should consider is a 20gal, a larger tank would be preferred, and you should really get the biggest tank you can fit/afford.

Thank you for the response! I was thinking i could afford a 30g tank. I was thinking , more so african cichlid i just like the shape of them better. like the long half circle shape, if I'm making any sense lol. are there any possible that would fit into that kind of sized tank or close to that size? I dont really want any central american cichlids. I'd get them but would prefer africans. thanks again!

Thank you for the response! I was thinking i could afford a 30g tank. I was thinking , more so african cichlid i just like the shape of them better. like the long half circle shape, if I'm making any sense lol. are there any possible that would fit into that kind of sized tank or close to that size? I dont really want any central american cichlids. I'd get them but would prefer africans. thanks again!