My Jack Dempsey is cool!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BeerNinja

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone I'm brand new to all of this! :]

I'm a college student with low funds so I decided to buy a 10 gallon starter kit. Okay, I got it going. I have a fire mouth, a jack dempsey, and my friend wanted me to throw in a goldfish. They seem happy. Couple questions though!

1) I think the goldfish makes the water cloudy. Its just slightly cloudy.. a pale color. Nothin' serious, but I want this water to be clear! So, should I remove the goldfish? And, when I do, how much water do you think I have to change out to get it clear again?

2) When I do change the water, I know I have to treat the new water first with that stuff that makes tap water fish-able. But, what about temperature? Should I try and get my tap water to about 80 degrees? Does it matter?

3) Do I -really- need to concern myself with pH and nitrate and ammonia levels at this stage?

I would really appreciate any feedback! I love fish and I'm going to master this hobby. I hope I can contribute helpful info to the website when I can in the future.

All three of your fish will get WAY too big for a 10 gallon tank. In addition, the Jack Dempsey and Firemouth are both cichlids. Cichlids are generally territorially aggressive and will probably kill the goldfish.

You really need to return those fish. If you want to master the hobby, its important to research your fish choices before adding them to your tank. They all have very different needs.

Also, you'll want to read up on the cycle before you purchase any more fish. It is important to consider the PH, ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, etc. Not having a good understanding of these things will only lead to disappointment for you and suffering for your fish.