oscars

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ConanTheLibraia

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Can you keep more than 2 oscars in a tank? PS. Theres a pacu in my animal science class thats so big we feed it dead mice.

Um... interesting sidenote there.

Yeah, you can keep more than two oscars in a tank provided you have the space. The BARE minimum for one oscar should be 55 gallons, for swimming space and water quality. You should have a BARE minimum of 25 gallons extra for each additional oscar. Other people may tell you that you need more than what I listed. They're probably right.

I think my oscar ate my pleco... And I wouldn't do two in a 63. However, it's your decision, and who knows? With really good maintenance it might work. I'm not an expert, but I think you'll be hard-pressed to get someone with experience to agree with that idea.

my sisters tanning salon had 4 oscars in a 75 gal

and she had 2 plecos and the plecos were never eaten

Any thing small enough to fit in their mouth is fair game. I have a 7 in. pleco with a 6 in. oscar with no conflict. You could probably keep 2 in that tank if you over filter and change water often. :D

If you can go to an independant pet store where people drop off plecos and other fish that they don't want anymore, I would suggest getting a pleco that outgrew someones tank. As long as he is bigger than your Oscar, I don't see a problem.
As for the two Oscar thing...I don't recommend it. I have had a lot of experience with Oscars and found that having one happy, healthy Oscar is much better than having two that "get along for the most part"