Cycling Problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

freybizzy

Aquarium Advice Regular
I've had my 5 gallon cycling with liverock for about 9 days now and have even been adding several chunks of brine shrimp in to get it started, yet for some reason my ammonia hasn't spiked whatsoever. As well as this, both my nitrates and nitrites have remained at zero. At first I even suspected this was a flaw in my testing equipment, so I took a water sample in to my lfs and they said my water conditions were near perfect (still not a trace of ammonia). Is there something I am doing wrong, does it need more time, or has it simply completed the cycle in a miraculously short time frame? Any input is greatly appreciated, as this is my first time dealing with saltwater.

I've had my 5 gallon cycling with liverock for about 9 days now and have even been adding several chunks of brine shrimp in to get it started, yet for some reason my ammonia hasn't spiked whatsoever. As well as this, both my nitrates and nitrites have remained at zero. At first I even suspected this was a flaw in my testing equipment, so I took a water sample in to my lfs and they said my water conditions were near perfect (still not a trace of ammonia). Is there something I am doing wrong, does it need more time, or has it simply completed the cycle in a miraculously short time frame? Any input is greatly appreciated, as this is my first time dealing with saltwater.

What size tank do you have? I have a 10g nano and it is on week 4 with the cycle and still have some nitrite and nitrate in it. My ammonia just hit 0 the other day.

Try using a raw table shrimp instead, that's what I did and worked great.

It's a 5.5 gallon. When did your ammonia initially spike?