whats involved in a tank like this?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mr funktastic

Aquarium Advice Addict
i saw this pic in the gallery and was wondering what would be involved in setting one up? i am not even interested in any inhabitants just the tiny little reef design. maybe a snail or a shrimp. it is a half gallon but i could get a slightly larger container maybe 1 gal. i really like this. i have no salt experience but have basic knowledge and i do know that smaller tanks are harder to maintain. i currently keep highlight planted freshwater tanks so i am no beginner to maintence. i would need about 1-2 pounds of LR rubble. and submersible pump(powerhead with pre filter attachment maybe?) sand(can be used from freshwater tank i have) and the corals. how often would i need to change the water and how much? would it need a heater?(i am sure it will) and the biggest question i have what light is being used or would be good to use? thanks.

sorry for stealing your pic genix
img_702568_0_3a18816dc2de0f545fd8da152da29090.jpg