Aquarium PH at 7.2 help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ed3SJ

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I just recently aquired a 55 gallon aquarium. Has a skilter 400, 55lbs of live rock. I have a tomato clown, 2 domino dansles and my ph is at 7.2... i am confused at why my fish are not dead seeing as the ph needs to b at 8.3 anyways.. i have a Ph booster to an 8.3 but it does not tell me how often i should raise the ph till it hits 8.3. So i guess i am asking how gradual should i raise the pH without doing any harm.

btw..i am new to salt, i have only done freshwater,and i got this tank used and has been up and running for about 7 months, so i am already have coraline algae growth and such.. im gonna need alot of pointers! Thanks Guys!!

Your salt mix should keep the pH up. I would consider doing some water changes (start with some daily 10% changes to avoid any bad spikes). I would also avoid pH booster products.

I agree, PWCs should help. You should also add more surface ripple, this will help to balance out and raise your pH. Keep in mind, pH will drop after lights out and rise after lights on, so try to measure it a few hours after lights on. Stability is important, even if it is a little low or a little high.

Waht is the substrate? I know some people who dont have a crushed coral or argonite substrate, they use things like tahitian black moon sand and they wonder why they have pH problems.

The live rock may not be enough to keep the pH up on its own

If your using a test kit I would take a water sample to the lfs and have them test it just to make sure the reading was correct.

I would do a 50% pwc and follow that up in about two days with a 25% pwc.

And like roka said make sure you have enough surface movement for oxygen exchange. Try aiming a powerhead towards the surface of the water and that will help.